NYS Requirements

New York State Certification Requirements

Students who complete the child study program and are seeking New York State Initial Certification in the areas of Early Childhood, Childhood, Students with Disabilities: Early Childhood, and Students with Disabilities: Childhood, on or after May 1, 2014, must do the following:

  1. Complete a bachelor’s degree in approved program (child study)
  2. Complete an Area of Concentration (30 credits)
  3. Complete Mandated Reporter training
  4. Complete a Prevention of School Violence workshop
  5. Complete a Training in Harassment, Bullying, Cyber Bullying and Discrimination in Schools: Prevention and Intervention (DASA training)
  6. Pass New York State Teacher Certification Examinations:
    1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
    2. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Multi-Subject Early Childhood Parts I and II
    3. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Multi-Subject Childhood Parts I and II
    4. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Students with Disabilities
  7. Complete a fingerprinting packet distributed by the State Education Department


More information is available through New York State's Office of Teaching Initiatives.